Back to FAQ

Why do I see Stripe when I subscribe to or change my plan?

by Meelika Kivi · Customer Support

We use Stripe as our secure payment gateway and payment processor for MailMergic.

When you subscribe to one of our paid plans (for example with Choose plan on the Billing page), you are not sent to another website: Stripe’s payment form opens in a window inside MailMergic. Some payment methods may still take you to your bank or payment provider to confirm the payment and then bring you back.

Stripe’s own pages open in two cases:

  • when you click Manage subscription in Stripe on the Billing page to cancel, change your card or download invoices, and
  • when you already have a plan and click Switch to this plan to change it. Stripe then shows the change for you to confirm.

Stripe makes it easier for us to control our online business by saving us many hours and resources that are required for creating and setting up an online payment processor to start accepting online payment from customers.

Stripe has been audited by a PCI-certified auditor and is certified to PCI Service Provider Level 1. This is the most stringent level of certification available in the payments industry. To accomplish this, Stripe uses the best-in-class security tools and practices to maintain a high level of security.

Stripe has some of the world’s best companies as their preferred payments processor such as Amazon, Shopify, Github, Yelp, Spotify, Uber, TED, Lyft, Reddit, and hundreds of top companies globally.